spacer   My Account for spacer

ST. LOUIS, Mo. - Junior Sarah Nelson and freshman Marissa Janning were named to the All-MVC First Team, announced Wednesday, March 13.  Nelson was also named to MVC All-Defensive Team, while Janning was named to the MVC All-Freshman Team.

Nelson leads the Bluejays with 228 rebounds (7.9 rpg) this season and is second on the team in scoring at 12.1 ppg (350 points).  Sarah has led the Creighton in scoring ten times in 2012-13, while pacing the Jays on the glass in 21 contests.  The most prolific post passer in the NCAA, Nelson has 104 assists.  She became the first Creighton post player to eclipse the century mark in assists in a season, since Becky Flynn had 153 in 1993-94 for the Jays.  Nelson earned All-MVC Honorable Mention following the 2011-12 season.  Nelson leads the MVC in field goal percentage at .508 (135-of-266), has collected 228 rebounds, 41 blocks and nabbed 38 steals.

Janning burst onto the scene for Creighton, leading the Jays with 385 points (13.3 ppg) in 2012-13.  The Minnesota native has been among the national leaders in three-pointers made and three-point percentage.  She leads the Jays and is second in the MVC with 69 treys, (69-168 - .411).  After setting the D.J. Sokol Arena record for points with 26 on Feb. 14, Janning took the record up a notch by scoring 29 points to lead Creighton to a 67-66 win over Drake on March 3.  The freshman has also dished out 70 assists, collecting 34 steals and grabbed 100 rebounds.

All-MVC First Team
Jessica Diamond, Wichita State
Alex Harden, Wichita State
Marissa Janning, Creighton
Jacqui Kalin, UNI
Sarah Nelson, Creighton
Jamie Russell, Illinois State
All-MVC Second Team
Kyndal Clark, Drake
Samantha Heck, Evansville
Anna Munn, Indiana State
Janae Smith, Illinois State
Katie Yohn, Bradley
Honorable Mention
Whitney Edie, Missouri State
Mallory Ladd, Evansville
Cartaesha Macklin, Southern Illinois
Racheal Mahan, Indiana State
Candace Sykes, Illinois State
All-Freshman Team
Marissa Janning, Creighton
Marina Laramie, Indiana State
Rishonda Napier, Southern Illinois
Hannah Schonhardt, UNI
Tyonna Snow, Missouri State
All-Defensive Team
Kyndal Clark, Drake
Alex Harden, Wichita State
Sarah Nelson, Creighton
Jamie Russell, Illinois State
Taylor Whitley, Indiana State

Returning Customers
Jays Video users or returning customers, please login here.
Login/eMail Address


Forgot your Login?
New Customer
Set up a New Customer account for quick and easy online shopping and/or camp & event registration.

With your account you can easily track and manage your orders, update your information and more.