Tickets Remain For Monday's Hall of Fame Banquet

Article Image
Courtesy: None

-- Creighton University will induct former men's basketball players Ryan Sears and Ben Walker into its Athletic Hall of Fame on Monday, April 12th.

Tickets remain -- but are going fast -- for the event, which will take place at the DoubleTree Downtown in a ceremony starting at 7 pm. Tickets to the Hall of Fame banquet cost $50 per person and include dinner. For reservations, contact Barb Epps at (402) 280-5577 or via e-mail at

Sears, a 2001 graduate of the College of Arts and Sciences, was a standout player who started all 124 basketball games while at Creighton.  Sears ranks first in Creighton history in assists for a career, and he ranks first in both Creighton and Missouri Valley Conference history in steals for a career. He also ranks second in Creighton history in three-pointers for a career. He was named to the Missouri Valley Conference All-Centennial team, and was a three-time Academic All-District player, as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America.

Considered a leader on and off the court, he was involved in organizations that included the Fellowship of Christian Athletes and Jays for Christ while at Creighton.

Sears has played professional basketball with the Kansas City Knights and with teams in Kosovo, the Netherlands and Belgium. But he lists as the highlight of his career his involvement with Athletes in Action, a sports and ministry program, as a player and coach from 2002 through 2009. He is currently a coach with Kingdom Hoops, training young men and women in individual skill development as well as coaching skills for practices and tournaments.

He and his wife Angie and daughters Moriah and Yirah reside in Ankeny, Iowa.

Walker, of Oak Creek, Wis., a 2002 College of Arts and Sciences graduate, is among the top 10 players in Creighton University basketball history in steals and rebounds. He started 119 of his 124 games at Creighton, was named to the Missouri Valley Conference All-Defensive Team, and helped lead Creighton to the National Invitational Tournament, as well as three consecutive NCAA Tournaments. Walker went on to play professional basketball in Qatar, Latvia, Australia and Norway. He made the Latvian All-Star game in 2005 and was named Most Valuable Player.

During his years on campus, he gave back to the community and he continues to do so today, through his full-time work with Big Brothers/Big Sisters of Dallas, his work with the Hawks Foundation and the countless hours he spends coaching youth basketball.

In addition to Sears and Walker, Joani & Mike Mullin will be honored as 2010 Joseph J. Vinardi "Jaybackers of the Year", while Robbie Knight (baseball) and Tara Oltman (softball) will be honored as the Carl M. Reinert, S.J., Scholar-Athlete award winners.

Jays Video
(M) Soccer
MSOC vs. Drake Highlights 10-8-15
(M) Soccer
MSOC vs. Missouri State Highlights 9-29-15
(M) Soccer
MSOC NIU Highlights (9-22-15)
Uploaded Ad
Men's Basketball Season Tickets