Article Image
Senior Mark Winkelman was named to 2013 NCBWA Stopper of the Year Watch List
Courtesy: Eric Francis

Mark Winkelman Named to 2013 NCBWA Stopper of the Year Watch List

OMAHA, Neb. - Creighton senior pitcher Mark Winkelman was named to the 2013 NCBWA Stopper of the Year Watch List on Friday, Feb. 8.

Winkelman enters the 2013 season as the Bluejays leading contender to claim the closer role.  As a junior last year, Winkelman appeared in 37 games out for Creighton.  He posted a 2-1 record with a 2.57 ERA in 49 innings.  The previous year, Winkelman appeared 35 games with a 1-1 mark and 2.95 ERA in 42.2 innings.  Winkelman has primarily been a setup man over the past two seasons, collecting one save and striking out a combined 55 hitters in 2011 and 2012.

Seventy-five players were named to the initial watch list for the ninth annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) Stopper of the Year Award, given to the top relief pitcher in NCAA Division I baseball, as announced by the association on Friday.

Nominations for the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award were made by baseball sports information/media relations contacts. The initial list will be updated with a mid-season release the week of April 16, including the national saves leaders. At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts will be selected as finalists and released Wednesday, June 5, prior to start of NCAA Super Regional tournament competition.

From the list of finalists, the NCBWA's All-America Committee will select a winner. The ninth annual winner will be announced in Omaha on Saturday, June 15, the opening day of the College World Series.

Previous winners of the (NCBWA) Stopper of the Year Award were  J. Brent Cox (Texas, 2005),  Don Czyz (Kansas,  2006), Luke Prihoda (Sam Houston State, 2007), Joshua Fields (Georgia, 2008), Addison Reed (San Diego State, 2009), Chance Ruffin (Texas, 2010), Corey Knebel (Texas, 2011) and Stefan Lopez(Southeastern Louisiana,  2012).
The NCBWA, founded in 1962, presents the Dick Howser Trophy to the nation's top player. It also selects All-America Teams for all Divisions, a Division I Freshman All-American team, Division I and III Players of the Week, Division I District Players of the Year and Division III Players of the Year.

Jays Video
BIG EAST Baseball Championships - Day 3 - Highlights (SHU vs. CU)
Creighton-St.John's Baseball Highlights - May 22
Creighton Baseball defeated the Seton Hall Pirates 7-4 at TD Ameritrade Park...
Uploaded Ad
Men's Basketball Season Tickets