Article Image
Doug McDermott with the MVC Tournament trophy.
Courtesy: AP

Doug McDermott Named to Wooden List; Picks up All-District Accolades

OMAHA, Neb. -- Creighton basketball standout Doug McDermott added two more items to his hardware haul on Tuesday afternoon. The sophomore forward is one of 15 finalists for the John R. Wooden Award, and was also named to the All-District VI First Team, as selected by the United State Basketball Writers Association.

The Ames, Iowa, product is Creighton's first Wooden Award finalist since Kyle Korver in 2002-03, and the first Bluejay named to the USBWA's All-District VI First Team since Nate Funk in 2006-07.

McDermott ranks third nationally with his 23.2 scoring average and seventh with his 61.0 percent shooting from the floor. He also ranks second in the MVC with 8.2 rebounds per game and 49.5 percent marksmanship from three-point range. McDermott owns a Creighton-record 765 points this season, and scored 33 points in Sunday's MVC Tournament title game victory over Illinois State that clinched a bid to the NCAA Tournament.

There are nine regions from coast to coast and a player and coach of the year are selected in each. The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Today, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball.

All 15 players on the Wooden Award list have proven to their universities that they are making progress toward graduation and are maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 GPA, an important component of the Award insisted upon by Coach Wooden.  The Wooden Award All-American Teams will be announced the week of the “Elite Eight” round of the NCAA Tournament, making the Wooden Award unique among college postseason awards. Voters have until Monday, March 19 at Noon PDT to return their ballots, allowing them to take into consideration performance during the first two rounds of the NCAA Tournament.

The 36th annual Wooden Award Gala, will take place on Friday, April 6, 2012, and will honor winners, All Americans and the Legends of Coaching winner Geno Auriemma of Connecticut. The John R. Wooden Award winner will be announced on ESPN the weekend of the Final Four in New Orleans, Louisiana.

On Monday, McDermott was tabbed a first-team All-American by's Jason King, and on Tuesday morning he was named a Second-Team All-American by Sporting News.


About the John R. Wooden Award
Created in 1976 and named after the Hall of Fame player, coach and teacher, the John R. Wooden Award bills itself as the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball.  It is bestowed upon the nation’s best player at an institution of higher education who has proven to his or her university that he or she is making progress toward graduation and maintaining a minimum cumulative 2.0 GPA.  Previous winners include such notables as Larry Bird (’79), Michael Jordan (’84), Tim Duncan (’97), Blake Griffin (’09) and Maya Moore of Connecticut (’09 and ’11). BYU’s Jimmer Fredette was the Wooden Award winner in 2011.

Jays Video
(M) Basketball
Creighton Postgame Interviews - All Star Rome -8-11-15
(M) Basketball
Interviews from Ollegio, Italy.
(M) Basketball
Highlights from Creighton Men's Basketball first game in Italy against Ollegio...
Uploaded Ad
Men's Basketball Season Tickets