Article Image
Korie Lebeda, Rusty Komori, Laura Spanheimer Dechant
Courtesy: Creighton Media Services

2014 Athletic Hall of Fame Banquet Recap

OMAHA, Neb. -- Rusty Komori, Korie Lebeda, Laura Spanheimer Dechant were inducted into the Creighton Athletic Hall of Fame during a Wednesday evening banquet at the DoubleTree by Hilton Omaha Downtown Hotel.

Komori was a standout men's tennis player who graduated in 1991 and was presented by former teammate and current Bluejay tennis coach Tom Lilly.

Lebeda was a star setter for Creighton Volleyball before graduating in 2008. She was presented by her former head coach, Kirsten Bernthal Booth.

Spanheimer Dechant was a star women's basketball player at Creighton who graduated in 2005, and was presented by her former head coach, Jim Flanery.

Alison and Dan O'Neill were honored as Joseph J. Vinardi "Jaybacker of the Year".

In addition, softball standout Becca Changstrom and men's tennis star Billy Paluch were honored with the Carl M. Reinert, S.J., Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards.

For the fourth year in a row, Creighton honored its top teams in each gender. The volleyball team earned the top women's honor, while basketball took home the top men's award.

Individually, Marissa Janning (Women's Basketball) and Doug McDermott (men's basketball) were recognized as CU's Athletes of the Year. It was McDermott's second straight honor. McDermott also was presented the Red McManus Award by associate athletic director Mark Burgers.

Below is a list of each team's "Most Inspirational Award" winner:
Softball (2013): Ashley Frutos
Baseball (2013): Jordan Makovicka
Women's Golf: Katie Morel
Men's Golf: Johnny Spellerberg
Volleyball: Savannah Smith
Women's Tennis: Jennie Hartjes
Men's Tennis: Billy Paluch
Women's Soccer: Angela Benson
Men's Soccer: JT Seger
Crew: Lauren Klick
Women's Cross Country: Maddie Ivy
Men's Cross Country: Christopher Kokotajlo
Women's Basketball: Carli Tritz
Men's Basketball: Jahenns Manigat
First National Bank
Uploaded Ad
Men's Basketball Season Tickets