Article Image
Greg McDermott with Grant Gibbs
Courtesy: Mitchell Leff

Greg McDermott Named NABC Co-District Coach of the Year

OMAHA, Neb. -- Creighton men's basketball coach Greg McDermott has been named as the Co-District 16 NABC Coach of the Year. McDermott shares the award with Gregg Marshall from Wichita State.

McDermott is just the fifth Creighton recipient of the District Coach of the Year Award, which dates to 1970. Previous winners include Tom Apke (1978), Tony Barone (1989) and  Dana Altman (1999 and 2003).

Creighton went 28-8 during the recently-completed season, including Missouri Valley Conference regular-season and tournament titles. The Bluejays won NCAA Tournament games in back-to-back seasons for the first time, and defeated Cincinnati before falling to No. 6 Duke in the third round.

McDermott is 80-30 after three years at Creighton. His 80 wins in three seasons are the best start by any MVC coach in 50 years, and most of any current third-year coach nationwide.

McDermott is assisted by Darian DeVries, Steve Lutz and Steve Merfeld.

The awards were voted on by McDermott's coaching peers. Seven of the 27 men honored have been head coaches in the Missouri Valley Conference at some point in their career.

District 1: Joe Mihalich, Niagara
District 2: Jim Larranaga, Miami
District 3: Chris Holtmann, Gardner-Webb
District 4: Jim Crews, St. Louis
District 5: John Thompson III, Georgetown
District 6: Michael White, Louisiana Tech
District 7: Tom Crean, Indiana
District 8: Bruce Weber, Kansas State
District 9: Mark Few, Gonzaga
Co-District 10: Matt Brady, James Madison
Co-District 10: Bill Coen, Northeastern
District 11: Donnie Tyndall, Southern Mississippi
District 12: Jim Molinari, Western Illinois
Co-District 13: Tommy Amaker, Harvard
Co-District 13: Dave Paulsen, Bucknell
District 14: Jim Christian, Ohio
District 15: Cy Alexander, North Carolina A&T
Co-District 16: Greg McDermott, Creighton
Co-District 16: Gregg Marshall, Wichita State
District 17: Steve Alford, New Mexico
District 18: Tim O’Shea, Bryant
District 19: Jeff Neubauer, Eastern Kentucky
District 20: Dana Altman, Oregon
District 21: Billy Donovan, Florida
District 22: Bob McKillop, Davidson
District 23: Danny Kaspar, Stephen F. Austin
District 24: Kermit Davis, Middle Tennessee State

About the National Association of Basketball Coaches
Located in Kansas City, MO, the NABC was founded in 1927 by Phog Allen, the legendary basketball coach at the University of Kansas. Allen, a student of James Naismith, the inventor of basketball, organized coaches into this collective group to serve as Guardians of the Game. The NABC currently has nearly 5,000 members consisting primarily of university and college men’s basketball coaches. All members of the NABC are expected to uphold the core values of being a Guardian of the Game by bringing attention to the positive aspects of the sport of basketball and the role coaches play in the academic and athletic lives of today’s student-athletes. The four core values of being a Guardian of the Game are advocacy, leadership, service and education. Additional information about the NABC, its programs and membership, can be found at
Jays Video
(M) Basketball
Creighton Postgame Interviews - All Star Rome -8-11-15
(M) Basketball
Interviews from Ollegio, Italy.
(M) Basketball
Highlights from Creighton Men's Basketball first game in Italy against Ollegio...
Uploaded Ad
Men's Basketball Season Tickets
Back to School