Article Image
Ethan Wragge
Courtesy: Bill Streicher

Wragge Named to I-AAA Scholar-Athlete Team

CLEVELAND -- Creighton forward Ethan Wragge is among 20 members of the 12th Annual Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association (DI-AAA ADA) Scholar-Athlete Teams.

Wragge is Creighton's ninth overall men's honoree in the 12-year history of the award. Two past Creighton student-athletes, Michael Lindeman (in 2003) and Anthony Tolliver (in 2006 and 2007) were lauded with Division I-AAA Athletic Directors Association Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors.

A senior forward from Eden Prairie, Minn., Wragge completed his fifth season at Creighton nine days ago by helping the Bluejays to a third straight NCAA Tournament appearance. He averaged 10.4 points per game while leading the BIG EAST Conference in both three-pointers made (110) and three-point percentage (.470). Both figures rank among the top seven figures nationally.

He gained national acclaim when he tied a school-record with nine three-point baskets in a Jan. 20 victory at No. 4 Villanova, and on Thursday will compete in the 3-Point Contest at the Final Four. Wragge wrapped up his career having played in a school-record 149 games while ranking second with 334 three-pointers and 27th with 1,155 career points.

In the classroom, Wragge is a Finance/Marketing/Entrepreneurship triple major in Creighton's Heider College of Business. He is a four-time member of the Missouri Valley Conference Academic Honor Roll, a past member of the Creighton Dean's List, and last year was recognized as Creighton's Carl M. Reinert, S.J., Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

“Our Association prides itself in honoring our student-athletes for both their on-field and academic achievements each year,” stated Tim Hall, chair of the Division I-AAA ADA Scholar-Athlete Team Selection Committee and athletics director at the University of Maryland Baltimore County. “We want to congratulate this year’s scholar-athlete award winners, the scholar-athletes of the year and the Postgraduate Scholarship recipients for their outstanding accomplishments.”

Basketball players from all Division I-AAA ADA member institutions are eligible for these prestigious awards. Each of the nominees was required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or important reserve with legitimate athletics credentials. Nominated student-athletes must have participated in at least 50 percent of the team’s games listed on the nomination form. To be eligible for nomination to the Scholar-Athlete Team, he/she must have reached junior academic standing at their institution (ineligible athletics transfers are not eligible). To be eligible for the Postgraduate Scholarship, he/she must have completed eight semesters or the equivalent number of quarters at their institution. Preference was given to those on track to graduate in spring/summer 2014.

Additionally, from the Scholar-Athlete teams, one male and female student-athlete was selected as the Division I-AAA ADA Scholar-Athletes of the Year. Receiving the women’s honor was Amanda Hyde, a mathematics teaching major from the Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne, with a 3.97 GPA; while the men’s award went to Holton Hunsaker, an accounting major from Utah Valley University, with a 3.88 GPA.

Eilise O’Connor, a chemistry major from University of Missouri Kansas City, with a 3.99 GPA, and Ryan Nichols, a psychology major from Pepperdine University, with a 3.52 GPA, were selected as the 2014 postgraduate scholarship recipients. Each will receive $5,000 towards postgraduate studies and will be given their awards during the Association’s annual membership meeting being held in conjunction with the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention, being held at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Fla., June 9-12.

A special Review Committee of Division I-AAA athletics directors were responsible for selecting the winners. Completing this task were Committee Chair Tim Hall; Don DiJulia, St. Joseph’s; Gene Doris, Fairfield; Bill Hogan, Seattle; Bill Husak, Loyola Marymount; and Jean Lenti Ponsetto, DePaul.

About Division I-AAA ADA: Now in its 13th year, the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance initiatives common to its Division I-AAA membership (the 99 Division I institutions that do not sponsor football), in particular, aspects related to their flagship basketball programs. For more information on the Division I-AAA ADA, please visit The Division I-AAA ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 49th year. For more information on NACDA and the 13 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit

2014 Division I-AAA Scholar-Athlete Teams

Men's Scholar-Athlete Team





Richard Bader

Oakland University



Holton Hunsaker

Utah Valley University



Malte Kramer

Pepperdine University



Walt Lemon Jr.

Bradley University



John Stuart Mann

Belmont University


Economics/Minor Spanish

Ryan Nicholas

Pepperdine University



Matthew Stainbrook

Xavier University



Thomas Van der Mars

University of Portland


Operations & Technology Management

Ethan Wragge

Creighton University


Finance, Marketing, Entrepreneurship

Corban Wroe

University of Hartford


Health Science/Physical Therapy

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Holton Hunsaker, Utah Valley
Postgraduate Scholarship Recipient:
 Ryan Nichols, Portland

Women's Scholar-Athlete Team





Alexis Dobbs

American University


Public Health/Minor Biology

Jen Dumiak

American University


Mathematics & Economics

Sarah Hansen

Florida Gulf Coast University


Chemistry/Minor Mathematics

Amanda Hyde

Indiana-Purdue University-Fort Wayne


Mathematics/Minor Psychology

Katie Fox

St. Francis College Brooklyn


English & History

Dequesha McClanahan

Winthrop University


Exericise Science

Eilise O'Connor

University of Missouri Kansas City



Haley Seilbert

Indiana-Purdue University-Fort Wayne


Communication Science & Disorders

Erin Shields

Saint Joseph's University


Finance & Accounting

Kacie Sowell

Seattle University


Sports & Exercise Science

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Amanda Hyde, IPFW
Postgraduate Scholarship Recipient: Eilise O'Connor, UMKC
Jays Video
(M) Basketball
Creighton Postgame Interviews - All Star Rome -8-11-15
(M) Basketball
Interviews from Ollegio, Italy.
(M) Basketball
Highlights from Creighton Men's Basketball first game in Italy against Ollegio...
Uploaded Ad
Men's Basketball Season Tickets