Bruce Rasmussen Honored With AD of the Year Award

Article Image
Bruce Rasmussen
Courtesy: Eric Francis

Orlando, Fla. -- Bruce Rasmussen, who is completing his 17th year as Director of Athletics at Creighton University, has been honored with an Under Armour AD of the Year award by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics.

Rasmussen was also selected with a similar honor in 2004.

Rasmussen is one of 28 winners from across the country, and represents the Central Region in Division I. There are four geographic regions - northeast, southeast, central and west; while the membership is separated into seven categories - Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division I-A); Football Championship Subdivision (formerly Division I-AA); Division I (formerly Division I-AAA); Division II; Division III; NAIA; and Junior/Community Colleges. One winner was selected in each of the seven categories, for a total of 28 honorees.

Winners will receive their awards during the James J. Corbett Awards Luncheon on Saturday, June 18 at NACDA's 46th Annual Convention at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Fla., though Rasmussen will be unable to attend due to his role with Creighton as the host school for the College World Series.

NACDA Executive Director Mike Cleary explains the ADOY Award is essential because it highlights the efforts of athletics directors at all levels for their commitment and positive contributions to campuses and their surrounding communities.

"Our Honors and Awards Committee recognized a need for an award such as the AD of the Year," said Cleary, who oversaw implementation of the program to allow all NACDA Officers and Honors and Awards Committee members to participate in the awards process, should they be elected. "The program brings to light the outstanding jobs done by athletics directors across the country. These 28 winners exemplify that, providing us with a group of exemplary athletics directors who excel at their jobs."

Under Rasmussen's watch, Creighton has had 19 student-athletes earn a combined 26 CoSIDA Academic All-America accolades, while his coaching staffs have combined for 27 different honors. In addition, Creighton has picked up 22 regular-season titles, 29 MVC Tournament titles and made 56 postseason appearances.

This past academic year, Creighton was one of five schools nationally to reach the NCAA Tournament in men’s soccer, women’s soccer, women’s volleyball and baseball during the 2010-11 school year. The Bluejays were joined on that list by California, New Mexico, North Carolina and UCLA.

In addition, Creighton has also been recognized with the MVC All-Academic Award in six of the past seven seasons.

Winners of the 2010-11 Under Armour AD of the Year Awards are: 

Winner Institution Region
  Football Bowl Subdivision  
Kathy Beauregard Western Michigan University Central
Bill Bradshaw Temple University Northeast
Chris Hill University of Utah West
Eric Hyman University of South Carolina Southeast
  Football Championship Subdivision  
Charlie Cobb Appalachian State University Southeast
Robert Hill Stephen F. Austin State University West
Ron Prettyman Indiana State University Central
Joe Sterrett Lehigh University Northeast
  Division I  
Jeff Altier Stetson University Southeast
Mike Lynch Boston University Northeast
Bruce Rasmussen Creighton University Central
Larry Williams University of Portland West
  Division II  
Kathleen Brasfield Angelo State University West
Rick Cole Jr. Dowling College Northeast
Peggy Davis Virginia State University Southeast
Jerry Hughes University of Central Missouri Central
  Division III  
Jim Knowlton Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Northeast
Frank O’Brien University of Wisconsin Stevens Point West
Larry Scheiderer Denison University Central
Joy Solomen Rowan University Southeast
  NAIA/Other 4-Year Institutions  
Bill Ashby University of Maine Fort Kent Northeast
Rusty Hollingsworth Campbellsville University Southeast
Gary Picone Lewis-Clark State College West
Thomas Smith Missouri Baptist University Central
  Junior/Community Colleges  
Mick McDaniel Tompkins Cortland Community College Northeast
Jay Mehrhoff East Central College Central
Christopher Parker Patrick Henry Community College Southeast
John Volek Sierra College West
Jays Video
(M) Soccer
Creighton Men's Soccer defeated St. John's 2-1 on 10/10/15 at Morrison Stadium
(M) Soccer
MSOC vs. Drake Highlights 10-8-15
(M) Soccer
MSOC vs. Missouri State Highlights 9-29-15
Uploaded Ad
Men's Basketball Season Tickets